Corpus Iuris Civilis
(1,991 words)

Designation for the collection and codification of the Roman Law created in AD 528–534 by Emperor Iustinianus [1]; the name was first used by Dionysius Gothofredus in his edition of 1583.


The Corpus Iuris Civilis consists of four parts:

(1) the Codex, (2) the Digesta, (3) the Institutiones, and (4) the Novellae (Constitutiones) as an appendix.

(1) The Codex comprises the Im…

Cite this page
Landfester, Manfred, “Corpus Iuris Civilis”, in: Brill’s New Pauly Supplements I - Volume 2 : Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts, Edited by: Manfred Landfester, in collaboration with Brigitte Egger. Consulted online on 17 February 2019 <>
First published online: 2011
First print edition: 9789004167834, 20090831

▲   Back to top   ▲